What recycling technologies do lithium-ion batteries have?

Time:2019-07-05|

Reading Volume:62|

Source:

Lithium ion batteries are composed of positive and negative plates, binders, electrolytes and diaphragms. In industry, lithium cobalt, lithium manganate, lithium nickel cobalt manganate and lithium ferrous phosphate are used as cathode materials for lithium ion batteries, and natural graphite and artificial graphite are used as negative active materials. Polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) is a widely used cathode binder with high viscosity, good chemical stability and physical properties. Industrial lithium-ion batteries mainly use electrolyte lithium hexafluorophosphate (LiPF6) and organic solvent solution as electrolyte, and organic membranes such as porous polyethylene (PE) and polypropylene (PP) as separators. Lithium-ion batteries are generally regarded as environmentally friendly and pollution-free green batteries, but improper recovery of lithium-ion batteries will also cause pollution. Although lithium-ion batteries do not contain toxic heavy metals such as mercury, cadmium and lead, the positive and negative materials and electrolytes of lithium-ion batteries still have a great impact on the environment and human body. If lithium-ion batteries (landfill, incineration, composting, etc.) are treated by ordinary waste treatment methods, cobalt, nickel, lithium, manganese and various organic and inorganic compounds in the batteries will cause metal pollution, organic matter pollution, dust pollution, acid-base pollution. Machine transformants of lithium ion electrolyte, such as LiPF6, LiAsF6, LiCF3SO3 and HF, are toxic substances in solvents and hydrolysates such as diethylene glycol dimethyl ether (DME), methanol and formic acid. Therefore, waste lithium-ion batteries need to be recycled to reduce the harm to the natural environment and human health.

I. Production and Use of Lithium Ion Batteries

Lithium-ion batteries are widely used in electronic products, such as mobile phones, tablet computers, laptops and digital cameras, because of their advantages of high energy density, high voltage, low self-discharge, good cycle performance, safe operation, and relatively friendly to the natural environment. In addition, lithium-ion batteries have been widely used in energy storage power systems, such as water power, firepower, wind power and solar energy, and gradually become the best choice for power batteries. The appearance of lithium iron phosphate batteries has promoted the development and application of lithium ion batteries in electric vehicle industry. With the increasing demand for electronic products and the acceleration of renewal of electronic products, and the impact of the rapid development of new energy vehicles, the demand for lithium-ion batteries in the global market is growing, and the growth rate of battery production is increasing year by year.

The huge demand for lithium-ion batteries in the market, on the one hand, will lead to a large number of waste batteries in the future. How to deal with these waste lithium-ion batteries to reduce their impact on the environment is an urgent problem to be solved. On the other hand, in order to meet the huge demand of the market, manufacturers need to produce a large number of lithium-ion batteries to supply the market. Field. At present, the cathode materials for lithium ion batteries mainly include lithium cobalt oxide, lithium manganate, lithium nickel cobalt manganate and lithium ferrous phosphate. Therefore, the waste lithium ion batteries contain more cobalt (Co), lithium (Li), nickel (Ni), manganese (Mn), copper (Cu), iron (Fe) and other metal resources, including a variety of rare metal resources. China is a scarce strategic metal, mainly to meet the growing demand by importing. The metal content of waste lithium-ion batteries is higher than that of natural ores. Therefore, under the situation of increasing shortage of production resources, recycling waste lithium-ion batteries has certain economic value.
II. Recycling Technology of Lithium Ion Batteries

The recovery process of waste lithium ion batteries mainly includes pretreatment, secondary treatment and advanced treatment. The pretreatment process includes deep discharging, crushing and physical separation because of the residual electricity in waste batteries. The purpose of secondary treatment is to achieve the complete separation of positive and negative active materials from the base. The two processes are usually realized by heat treatment, organic solvent dissolution, alkali solution dissolution and electrolysis. Separation; advanced treatment mainly includes two processes: leaching and separation and purification to extract valuable metal materials. According to the extraction process, the recovery methods of batteries can be divided into three categories: dry recovery, wet recovery and biological recovery.

1. Dry recovery

Dry recovery refers to the direct recovery of materials or valuable metals without solution or other media. Among them, the main methods used are physical separation and pyrolysis at high temperature.

(1) Physical sorting

Physical separation means that the battery is disassembled and separated, and valuable high-content substances are obtained by crushing, sieving, magnetic separation, fine grinding and classification of battery components, such as electrode active substances, collector and battery shell. Shin et al. proposed a method to recover Li and Co from waste liquor of lithium ion batteries by sulfuric acid and hydrogen peroxide, which includes physical separation of metal particles and chemical leaching. The physical separation process includes crushing, screening, magnetic separation, fine crushing and classification. In the experiment, a group of rotating and fixed blade crushers were used for crushing, and sieves with different apertures were used to classify and crush materials, and magnetic separation was used for further treatment to prepare for the subsequent chemical leaching process.

Shu et al. developed a new mechanochemical method to recover cobalt and lithium from lithium-sulfur battery waste based on the grinding technology and water leaching process developed by Zhang et al., Lee et al. and Saeki et al. In this method, lithium cobalt oxide (LiCoO 2) and polyvinyl chloride (PVC) are ground together in air by planetary ball mill to form Co and lithium chloride (LiCl) in a mechanochemical manner. The grinding products were then dispersed in water to extract chloride. Grinding promotes mechanochemical reactions. With the development of grinding, the extraction yields of Co and Li are improved.  More than 90% Co and nearly 100% lithium were recovered after 30 minutes of grinding. At the same time, about 90% of chlorine in PVC samples has been converted into inorganic chloride.
Physical separation method is easy to operate, but it is not easy to completely separate lithium-ion batteries. In screening and magnetic separation, it is easy to have mechanical entrainment loss, and it is difficult to achieve complete separation and recovery of metals.

(2) pyrolysis at high temperature

High temperature pyrolysis refers to the decomposition of lithium battery materials after physical crushing and other preliminary separation treatment at high temperature, and the removal of organic adhesives, thereby separating the components of lithium battery materials. At the same time, the metals and their compounds in lithium batteries can be oxidized, reduced and decomposed, volatilized in the form of steam, and then collected by condensation and other methods.

Lee et al. used waste lithium-ion batteries to prepare LiCoO 2 by pyrolysis at high temperature. Lee et al. first heat-treated LIB samples in a muffle furnace for 1 hour at a temperature of 100-150 C. Secondly, the heat treated batteries are shredded to release the electrode material. Samples are disassembled by a high-speed crusher specially designed for this study. The size ranges from 1 mm to 50 mm. Then, two steps of heat treatment were carried out in the furnace. The first heat treatment lasted for 30 minutes at 100-500 C and the second heat treatment lasted for 1 hour at 300-500 C. The electrode material was released from the collector through vibration screening. Next, the cathode active material LiCoO 2 was obtained by burning carbon and adhesives for 0.5-2 h at 500-900 C. The experimental data show that carbon and adhesives are burned off at 800 C.

High temperature pyrolysis process is simple, easy to operate, fast reaction speed and high efficiency in high temperature environment, which can effectively remove adhesives; moreover, the method does not require high composition of raw materials and is more suitable for handling large or complex batteries. However, this method requires higher equipment; in the process of treatment, the organic matter decomposition of batteries will produce harmful gases, which is not friendly to the environment. It is necessary to increase purification and recovery equipment, absorb and purify harmful gases, and prevent secondary pollution. Therefore, the processing cost of this method is high.

2. Wet recovery

Wet recovery process is to dissolve waste batteries after crushing, then selectively separate metal elements from leaching solution by using appropriate chemical reagents, and produce high-grade cobalt or lithium carbonate, etc. for direct recovery. Wet recovery process is more suitable for the recovery of waste lithium batteries with relatively single chemical composition, and its equipment investment cost is low. It is suitable for the recovery of small and medium-sized waste lithium batteries. Therefore, this method is widely used at present.
(1) Alkali-acid leaching

Because the cathode material of lithium ion batteries can not dissolve in alkali solution, and the base aluminum foil can dissolve in alkali solution, this method is often used to separate aluminum foil. When recovering Co and Li from batteries, Zhang Yang et al. used alkali to remove Al in advance, and then used dilute acid to immerse to destroy the adhesion of organic matter to copper foil. However, alkali leaching can not completely remove PVDF, which has adverse effects on subsequent leaching.

Most of the positive active materials in lithium ion batteries can be dissolved in acid, so the pretreated electrode materials can be leached with acid solution to separate the active materials from the collector, and then precipitate and purify the target metals according to the principle of neutralization reaction, so as to achieve the purpose of recovering high purity components.
The traditional inorganic acids, including hydrochloric acid, sulfuric acid and nitric acid, are used in acid leaching. However, in the process of leaching with inorganic strong acid, harmful gases such as chlorine (Cl2) and sulfur trioxide (SO3) are often produced, so researchers try to use organic acid to treat waste lithium batteries, such as citric acid, oxalic acid, malic acid, ascorbic acid and glycine. Li et al dissolve the recovered electrodes with hydrochloric acid. Because the efficiency of acid leaching process may be affected by hydrogen ion concentration, temperature, reaction time and solid-liquid ratio (S/L), in order to optimize the operation conditions of acid leaching process, experiments were designed to explore the effects of reaction time, H+ concentration and temperature. The experimental data show that the leaching efficiency is the highest when the H+ concentration is 4 mol/L and the reaction time is 2 h at 80 C. Among them, 97% of L I and 99% of CO in the electrode material are dissolved. Zhou Tao et al. used malic acid as leaching agent and hydrogen peroxide as reducing agent to reductive leaching of positive active substances obtained from pretreatment, and studied the effect of different reaction conditions on the leaching rate of Li, Co, Ni and Mn in malic acid leaching solution, so as to find out the best reaction conditions. The results show that the leaching efficiency of malic acid is the highest when the temperature is 80 C, the concentration of malic acid is 1.2 mol/L, the volume ratio of liquid to liquid is 1.5%, the solid-liquid ratio is 40 g/L and the reaction time is 30 minutes. The leaching rates of Li, Co, Ni and Mn are 98.9%, 94.3%, 95.1% and 96.4%, respectively. However, compared with inorganic acid, the cost of leaching with organic acid is higher.
(2) Organic solvent extraction

The organic solvent extraction method uses the principle of "similar compatibility" to dissolve the organic binder physically with suitable organic solvents, thus weakening the adhesion between the material and the foil and separating them.

Contestabile et al. used N-methyl pyrrolidone (NMP) to selectively separate components in order to better recover the active materials of the electrodes when recovering lithium cobalt oxide batteries. NMP is a good solvent for PVDF (solubility is about 200 g/kg), and its boiling point is high, about 200 C. The active material was treated by NMP at about 100 C for 1 h, which effectively separated the film from its carrier. Therefore, the metal forms of copper and Al were recovered by simply filtering it out of NMP (N-methyl pyrrolidone) solution. Another advantage of this method is that the recovered Cu and Al metals can be reused directly after being fully cleaned. In addition, the recovered NMP can be recycled. Because of its high solubility in PVDF, it can be reused many times. Zhang et al. used trifluoroacetic acid (TFA) to separate cathode material from aluminium foil when recycling cathode waste for lithium ion batteries. Polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) was used as an organic binder for waste lithium ion batteries. The effects of TFA concentration, liquid-solid ratio (L/S), reaction temperature and time on the separation efficiency of cathode materials and aluminum foil were systematically studied. The experimental results show that the cathode material can be completely separated when the liquid-solid ratio is 8.0 mL/g in TFA solution with mass fraction of 15 and the reaction temperature is 40 C and the reaction time is 180 min under proper stirring.


The experimental conditions for separating materials and foils by organic solvent extraction are mild, but organic solvents have certain toxicity, which may cause harm to the health of operators. At the same time, due to the different technology of lithium-ion batteries made by different manufacturers, different binders are selected. Therefore, different organic solvents are needed for different manufacturing processes when recycling waste lithium-ion batteries. In addition, cost is also an important consideration for large-scale recycling operations at the industrial level. Therefore, it is very important to select a solvent with wide source, suitable price, low toxicity, harmless and wide applicability.
(3) Ion exchange method

Ion exchange method refers to the separation and extraction of metals by using different adsorption coefficients of ion exchange resins for metal ion complexes to be collected. After acid leaching, Wang Xiaofeng et al. added appropriate amount of ammonia water to the solution, adjusted the pH value of the solution, reacted with metal ions in the solution, and formed [Co(NH3)6]2+, [Ni(NH3)6]2+ plasma complexes, which were continuously oxidized into the solution with pure oxygen. Then, the nickel complexes and cobalt-ammonia complexes on ion exchange resins were selectively eluted by repeatedly passing weak acid cation exchange resins with ammonia sulfate solutions of different concentrations. Finally, the cobalt complex was completely eluted by 5% H2SO4 solution, and the cation exchange resin was regenerated. The cobalt and nickel metals in the eluent were recovered by oxalate, respectively. Ion exchange process is simple and easy to operate.

3. Biological recovery

Mishra et al. leached metals from spent lithium-ion batteries by inorganic acid and acidophilic Thiobacillus ferrooxidans, and used S and ferrous ions (Fe2+) to produce H2SO4, Fe3+ and other metabolites in the leaching medium. These metabolites help dissolve metals in spent batteries. It was found that the dissolution rate of cobalt was faster than that of lithium. As the dissolution process proceeds, iron ions react with metal residues and precipitate, resulting in a reduction of ferrous ion concentration in the solution. With the increase of metal concentration in waste samples, cell growth is blocked and the dissolution rate slows down. In addition, higher solid/liquid ratio also affects the dissolution rate of metals. Zeng et al. used Thiobacillus ferrooxidans to bioleach cobalt from spent lithium-ion batteries, which was different from Mishra et al. In this study, copper was used as catalyst to analyze the effect of copper ions on Bioleaching of LiCoO 2 by Thiobacillus ferrooxidans. The results showed that almost all cobalt (99.9%) entered the solution after 6 days of bioleaching at the concentration of 0.75g/L of copper ion, while only 43.1% of cobalt dissolved after 10 days of reaction without copper ion. In the presence of copper ions, the cobalt dissolution efficiency of waste lithium ion batteries is improved. In addition, Zeng et al. studied the catalytic mechanism and explained the dissolution of cobalt by copper ions. LiCoO 2 reacted with copper ions to form copper cobalt oxide (CuCoO 4) on the surface of the sample, which was easily dissolved by iron ions.
Bioleaching method has low cost, high recovery efficiency, less pollution and consumption, less impact on the environment, and microorganisms can be reused. However, it is difficult to cultivate efficient microorganisms, long treatment period and control of leaching conditions.

4. Joint recovery method

Recycling technology of waste lithium batteries has its own advantages and disadvantages. At present, there are many methods to combine and optimize the recycling technology, so as to give full play to the advantages of various recycling methods and maximize economic benefits.

2019-07-05 62People Browsing
Next Article: Period

锂离子电池有哪些回收处理技术呢?

时间:2019-07-05|

阅读量:112|

来源:

锂离子电池是由正负极片、粘结剂、电解液和隔膜等组成。在工业上,厂家主要使用钴酸锂、锰酸锂、镍钴锰酸锂三元材料和磷酸亚铁锂等作为锂离子电池的正极材料,以天然石墨和人造石墨作为负极活性物质。聚偏氟己稀(PVDF)是一种广泛使用的正极粘结剂,粘度大,具有良好的化学稳定性和物理性能。工业生产的锂离子电池主要采用电解质六氟磷酸锂(LiPF6)和有机溶剂配置的溶液作为电解液,利用有机膜,如多孔状的聚乙烯(PE)和聚丙烯(PP)等聚合物作为电池的隔膜。锂离子电池被普遍认为是环保无污染的绿色电池,但锂离子电池的回收不当同样会产生污染。锂离子电池虽然不含汞、镉、铅等有毒重金属,但电池的正负极材料、电解液等对环境和人体的影响仍然较大。如果采用普通垃圾处理方法处理锂离子电池(填埋、焚烧、堆肥等),电池中的钴、镍、锂、锰等金属,以及各类有机、无机化合物将造成金属污染、有机物污染、粉尘污染、酸碱污染。锂离子电解质机器转化物,如LiPF6、六氟合砷酸锂(LiAsF6)、三氟甲磺酸锂(LiCF3SO3)、氢氟酸(HF)等,溶剂和水解产物如乙二醇二甲醚(DME)、甲醇、甲酸等都是有毒物质。因此,废旧锂离子电池需要经过回收处理,减少对自然环境和人类身体健康的危害。


一、锂离子电池的生产与使用

锂离子电池具有高能量密度、高电压、自放电小、循环性能好、操作安全等优势,并且对自然环境相对友好,因此被广泛应用于电子产品,如手机、平板电脑、笔记本电脑和数码相机等。此外,锂离子电池在水力、火力、风力和太阳能等储能电源系统方面具有广泛应用,并逐渐成为动力电池的最佳选择。磷酸铁锂材料电池的出现,推动了锂离子电池在电动车行业的发展和应用。随着人们对电子产品的需求逐步增大和电子产品更新换代的速度逐步加快,并且受新能源汽车飞速发展的影响,全球市场对锂离子电池的需求越来越大,电池产量的增速逐年增加。

市场对锂离子电池的巨大需求,一方面导致未来将会出现大量废旧电池,这些废旧锂离子电池如何处理才能减轻其对环境的影响,是亟待解决的问题;另一方面,为应对市场的巨大需求,厂家需要生产大量的锂离子电池来供应市场。目前,生产锂离子电池的正极材料主要包括钴酸锂、锰酸锂、镍钴锰酸锂三元材料和磷酸亚铁锂等,因此废旧锂离子电池中含有较多的钴(Co)、锂(Li)、镍(Ni)、锰(Mn)、铜(Cu)、铁(Fe)等金属资源,当中包含多种稀有金属资源,钴在我国更是属于稀缺战略金属,主要以进口的方式满足日益增长的需求。废旧锂离子电池中的部分金属含量比天然矿石中的金属含量高,因此在生产资源日益短缺情况下,回收处理废旧电池具有一定的经济价值。

二、锂离子电池回收处理技术

废旧锂离子电池的回收处理过程主要包括预处理、二次处理和深度处理。由于废旧电池中仍残留部分电量,所以预处理过程包括深度放电过程、破碎、物理分选;二次处理的目的在于实现正负极活性材料与基底的完全分离,常用热处理法、有机溶剂溶解法、碱液溶解法以及电解法等来实现二者的完全分离;深度处理主要包括浸出和分离提纯2个过程,提取出有价值的金属材料。按提取工艺分类,电池的回收方法主要可分为:干法回收、湿法回收和生物回收3大类技术。

1.干法回收

干法回收是指不通过溶液等媒介,直接实现材料或有价金属的回收。其中,主要使用的方法有物理分选法和高温热解法。

(1)物理分选法

物理分选法是指将电池拆解分离,对电极活性物、集流体和电池外壳等电池组分经破碎、过筛、磁选分离、精细粉碎和分类,从而得到有价值的高含量的物质。Shin等提出的一种利用硫酸和过氧化氢从锂离子电池废液中回收Li、Co的方法中,包括物理分离含金属颗粒和化学浸出2个过程。其中,物理分离过程包括破碎、筛分、磁选、细碎和分类。实验利用一组旋转和固定叶片的破碎机进行破碎,利用不同孔径的筛子分类破碎物料,并利用磁力分离,做进一步处理,为后续化学浸出过程做准备。

Shu等在Zhang等、Lee等以及Saeki等研发的研磨技术和水浸除工艺的基础上,开发一种利用机械化学方法从锂硫电池废料中回收钴和锂的新方法。该方法利用行星式球磨机在空气中共同研磨钴酸锂(LiCoO2)与聚氯乙烯(PVC),以机械化学地方式形成Co和氯化锂(LiCl)。随后,将研磨产物分散在水中以萃取氯化物。研磨促进了机械化学反应。随着研磨的进行,Co和Li的提取收率都得到提高。30min的研磨使得回收了超过90%的Co和近100%的锂。同时,PVC样品中约90%的氯已经转化为无机氯化物。
物理分选法的操作较简单,但是不易完全分离锂离子电池,并且在筛分和磁选时,容易存在机械夹带损失,难以实现金属的完全分离回收。

(2)高温热解法

高温热解法是指将经过物理破碎等初步分离处理的锂电池材料,进行高温培烧分解,将有机粘合剂去除,从而分离锂电池的组成材料。同时还可以使锂电池中的金属及其化合物氧化还原并分解,以蒸汽形式挥发,然后再用冷凝等方法收集。

Lee等利用废旧锂离子电池制备LiCoO2时,采用了高温热解法。Lee等首先将LIB样品在马弗炉中100~150℃的环境下热处理1h。其次,将经热处理的电池切碎以释放电极材料。样品用专为该研究设计的高速粉碎机进行拆解,按照大小分类,大小范围为1~50mm。然后,在炉中进行2步热处理,第一次在100~500℃下热处理30min,第二次在300~500℃下热处理1h,通过振动筛选将电极材料从集流体中释放出来。接下来,通过在500~900℃的温度下烧0.5~2h,烧掉碳和粘合剂,获得阴极活性材料LiCoO2。实验数据表明,碳和粘合剂在800℃时被烧掉。

高温热解法处理技术工艺简单,操作方便,在高温环境下反应速度快,效率高,能够有效去除粘合剂;并且该方法对原料的组分要求不高,比较适合处理大量或较复杂的电池。但是该方法对设备要求较高;在处理过程中,电池的有机物分解会产生有害气体,对环境不友好,需要增加净化回收设备,吸收净化有害气体,防止产生二次污染。因此,该方法的处理成本较高。

2.湿法回收

湿法回收工艺是将废弃电池破碎后溶解,然后利用合适的化学试剂,选择性分离浸出溶液中的金属元素,产出高品位的钴金属或碳酸锂等,直接进行回收。湿法回收处理比较适合回收化学组成相对单一的废旧锂电池,其设备投资成本较低,适合中小规模废旧锂电池的回收。因此,该方法目前使用也比较广泛。
(1)碱-酸浸法

由于锂离子电池的正极材料不会溶于碱液中,而基底铝箔会溶解于碱液中,因此该方法常用来分离铝箔。张阳等在回收电池中的Co和Li时,预先用碱浸除铝,然后再使用稀酸液浸泡破坏有机物与铜箔的粘附。但是碱浸法并不能完全除去PVDF,对后续的浸出存在不利影响。

锂离子电池中的大部分正极活性物质都可溶解于酸中,因此可以将预先处理过的电极材料用酸溶液浸出,实现活性物质与集流体的分离,再结合中和反应的原理对目的金属进行沉淀和纯化,从而达到回收高纯组分的目的。

酸浸法利用的酸溶液有传统的无机酸,包括盐酸、硫酸和硝酸等。但是由于在利用无机强酸浸出的过程中,常常会产生氯气(Cl2)和三氧化硫(SO3)等对环境有影响的有害气体,因此研究人员尝试利用有机酸来处理废旧锂电池,如柠檬酸、草酸、苹果酸、抗坏血酸、甘氨酸等。Li等利用盐酸溶解回收的电极。由于酸浸过程的效率可能受氢离子(H+)浓度、温度、反应时间和固液比(S/L)的影响,为了优化酸浸工艺的操作条件,设计了实验来探讨反应时间、H+浓度和温度的影响。实验数据表明,当温度为80℃时,H+浓度为4mol/L,反应时间为2h,浸出效率最高,其中,电极材料中97%的Li和99%的Co被溶解。周涛等采用苹果酸作浸出剂和双氧水作还原剂对预处理得到的正极活性物质进行还原浸出,并通过研究不同反应条件对苹果酸浸出液中Li、Co、Ni、Mn浸出率的影响,从而找出最佳反应条件。研究数据表明,当温度为80℃,苹果酸浓度为1.2mol/L,液液体积比为1.5%,固液比40g/L,反应时间30min时,利用苹果酸浸出的效率最高,其中Li、Co、Ni、Mn浸出率分别达到了98.9%,94.3%,95.1%和96.4%。但是,相较于无机酸,利用有机酸浸出成本较高。
(2)有机溶剂萃取法

有机溶剂萃取法利用“相似相容”的原理,使用合适的有机溶剂,对有机粘结剂进行物理溶解,从而减弱材料与箔片的粘合力,对二者进行分离。

Contestabile等在回收处理钴酸锂电池时,为了更好地回收电极的活性材料,利用N-甲基吡咯烷酮(NMP)对组分进行选择性分离。NMP是PVDF的良好溶剂(溶解度大约为200g/kg),并且其沸点较高,约200℃。研究利用NMP在大约100℃下对活性材料处理1h,有效实现了薄膜与其载体的分离,并因此通过将其从NMP(N-甲基吡咯烷酮)溶液中简单地过滤出来,从而回收金属形式的Cu和Al。该方法另一个好处是回收的Cu和Al两种金属在充分清洁后可以直接重新使用。此外,回收的NMP可以循环使用。因为其在PVDF中的高溶解度,所以可以被多次重复使用。Zhang等在回收锂离子电池用阴极废料时,采用三氟乙酸(TFA)将阴极材料与铝箔分离。实验所用的废旧锂离子电池使用聚四氟乙烯(PTFE)作为有机粘合剂,系统地研究了TFA浓度、液固比(L/S)、反应温度和时间对阴极材料和铝箔分离效率的影响。实验结果表明,在质量分数为15的TFA溶液中,液固比为8.0mL/g,反应温度为40℃时,在适当的搅拌下反应180min,阴极材料可以完全分离。

采用有机溶剂萃取法来分离材料与箔片的实验条件比较温和,但是有机溶剂具有一定的毒性,对操作人员的身体健康可能会产生危害。同时,由于不同厂家制作锂离子电池的工艺不同,选择的粘结剂有所差异,因此针对不同的制作工艺,厂家在回收处理废旧锂电池时,需要选择不同的有机溶剂。此外,对于工业水平的大规模回收处理操作,成本也是一个重要的考量。因此,选择一种来源广泛、价格适宜、低毒无害、适用性广的溶剂非常重要。
(3)离子交换法

离子交换法是指用离子交换树脂对要收集的金属离子络合物的吸附系数的不同来实现金属分离提取。王晓峰等在将电极材料经过酸浸处理过后,在溶液中加入适量氨水,调节溶液的pH值,与溶液中的金属离子发生反应,生成[Co(NH3)6]2+,[Ni(NH3)6]2+等络合离子,并连续向溶液中通入纯氧气进行氧化。然后,使用不同浓度的硫酸氨溶液反复通过弱酸性阳离子交换树脂,分别选择性的将离子交换树脂上的镍络合物和三价钴氨络合物洗脱下来。最后使用5%的H2SO4溶液将钴络合物完全洗脱,同时使阳离子交换树脂再生,并利用草酸盐分别将洗脱液中的钴、镍金属回收。离子交换法的工艺简单,比较容易操作。

3.生物回收

Mishra等利用无机酸和嗜酸氧化亚铁硫杆菌从废旧锂离子电池中浸出金属,并利用S和亚铁离子(Fe2+),在浸出介质中生成H2SO4、Fe3+等代谢产物。这些代谢物帮助溶解废电池中的金属。研究发现钴的生物溶解速度比锂快。随着溶解过程的进行,铁离子与残余物中的金属发生反应而沉淀,导致溶液中的亚铁离子浓度减少,并随着废物样品中金属浓度增加,细胞的生长被阻止,溶解速率变慢。此外,较高的固/液比也影响金属溶解的速率。Zeng等利用嗜酸氧化亚铁硫杆菌生物浸出废旧锂离子电池中的金属钴,与Mishra等不同,该研究以铜作为催化剂,分析铜离子对嗜酸氧化亚铁硫杆菌对LiCoO2生物浸出的影响。结果表明,几乎所有的钴(99.9%)在Cu离子浓度为0.75g/L时,生物浸出6天后进入溶液,而在没有铜离子的情况下,经过10天的反应时间,仅有43.1%的钴溶解。在铜离子存在的情况下,废锂离子电池的钴溶解效率提高。此外,Zeng等还研究了催化机理,解释了铜离子对钴的溶解作用,其中LiCoO2与铜离子发生阳离子交换反应,在样品表面形成钴酸铜(CuCo2O4),易被铁离子溶解。
生物浸出法的成本低,回收效率高,污染和消耗少,对环境的影响也较小,并且微生物可以重复利用。但是高效微生物菌类培养难,处理周期长,浸出条件的控制等是该方法需要的几大难题。

4.联合回收方法

废旧锂电池回收工艺各有优劣,目前已经有联合并优化多种工艺的回收方法研究,以充分发挥将各种回收方法的优势,实现经济利益最大化。




2019-07-05 112人浏览
下一篇: 没有了